Latinitas
3 min readFeb 12, 2020

Meet Our Fourth Cohort of Code Chicas Part 1!

Our fourth cohort is almost finished with an 8-week long coding program where they gained valuable knowledge and skills in multiple coding programs such as JavaScript, CSS, and HTML. These young females will be certified coders, have professional skills and have performed hands-on work in coding by creating a website of their own. Congratulations to this amazing group of girls!

Madeline

“I am currently in 8th grade. In my free time, I like to take and edit pictures, film and edit videos. I also like to be very creative and decorate things in my room and organize things. I also really enjoy playing video games, especially Call of Duty Black Ops, Fortnite, and Super Smash Bros Ultimate. What inspired me to be in Code Chica was that technology really interests me, and I feel like it will give me an idea of what coding will be like when I get a job. It is also good to have the basics down. I also really like being interactive on social media. Code Chica would help me by giving me all the basics of coding and already being ahead.”

Frances

“I am currently a sophomore. I joined Code Chica because I thought it would be a great experience for me and because I wanted to learn something new. My goal as of right now is to become a more open person and be less shy at social events. As of right now, I want to be an environmental photographer for National Geographic.”

Ana

“I am in 11th grade. I was inspired to join Code Chica to learn more about coding. I am a track athlete who has been involved in sports since freshman year. It has connected me with other kids in my school that I never would have thought to meet before. A goal of mine is to make it back to the track district meet this year for my school. As a current junior, I am a part of the National Honor Society at my school and we do several events volunteering in the community. Along in my junior year, I am in several AP classes that are a handful, but I think are crucial to my high school experience. I enjoy being apart of NHS as my close friends are involved in it as well. Outside of school, I volunteer for Reveal Resource Center that helps the community through a clothes closet and food pantry.”

Alejandra

“My parents signed me up for Code Chica so that’s why I’m taking this class. My future goal is to learn as many instruments as I can.”

Code Chica is a free certification program open to girls in grades 8th-12th.

If you want to become a Code Chica or know someone who might be interested? Our fifth cohort will be on Saturdays from April 4th-May 30th. Use the link below to get more information and to sign up.

bit.ly/code-chica-program